Fourth IDRBT Doctoral Colloquium

The Institute organized the Fourth IDRBT Doctoral Colloquium on December 11-12, 2014. The aim of the Colloquium is to network with technology researchers, share knowledge and learn from each other and explore emerging areas of research in various domains of technology. The 2-day event witnessed around 50 participants including academicians, researchers and students from reputed institutions like University of Hyderabad and Pondicherry University.

Dr. A. S. Ramasastri, Director, IDRBT, welcomed the gathering. In his Welcome Address, Dr. A. S. Ramasastri explained the need and importance of such Colloquiums. He encouraged more researchers to come together to collaborate and enable intellectual interaction for new ideas that bring out vigour in research especially in the area of Banking Technology.

The Colloquium was inaugurated by Prof. San Murugesan, University of Western Sydney, Australia. In his inaugural address, Prof. Murugesan spoke about the importance of research and the essentials of meaningful and productive research. He envisioned exciting times ahead for technology research as it enables collaboration and access to a huge mass of information. In order to improve the quality of research, he highlighted the following key points:

  • Need for effective communication which is possible through online tools for effective outcome of research
  • Emphasized on networking for improving the quality of research in terms of content quality and structural development
  • Collaborate with researchers across the globe for knowledge dissemination
  • Focus on Research & Development which is contemporary, adds value, which is utilitarian and applicable
  • Research must be focused towards resolving real-time problems
  • IT infrastructure, which is a major barrier for IT growth, needs to be developed
  • Institutions to take up the responsibility to check and contain plagiarism.

He appealed to the research scholars to aim high, take up challenges, explore the depths of research and come out with new ideas, in order to become good researchers.

The Colloquium also featured talk on emerging issues of technology research by eminent faculty from top academic institutions. Prof. B. Shekar, IIM Bangalore gave a talk on “Creativity in Arts, Design and Science using Metaphors”, highlighting the following few key points:

  • Study of literary, musical, and visual (static and dynamic) artifacts
  • Identification of intra-domain commonalities leading to existence of patterns of creativity
  • Analogical correspondences between patterns in the visual domain and patterns in music
  • Lateral thinking in creative design.

Prof. C. V. Jawahar, IIIT Hyderabad, gave a talk on “Mobile Digital Heritage”. Through this Mobile Digital Heritage application, one can take a picture at a heritage site/monument and obtain associated annotations on a mid-end mobile phone instantly. This does not require any communication of images or features with a remote server, and all the necessary computations take place on the phone itself. He demonstrated the app on two Indian heritage sites: Golconda Fort and Hampi Temples.

This year 11 Ph. D. scholars from various reputed institutions like IITs, IIMs, IIITs, NITs, and IISc. presented their research in the Colloquium. The forum provided an opportunity for the research scholars to demonstrate and discuss their research ideas and get feedback from an eminent panel to improve their work. The details of the scholars and the topic of their presentation are as under:

S. No. Topic Scholar Institution
1 Bank and IT Firm Collaboration for ATM Network Prakash Awasthy Indian Institute of Management, Bangalore
2 A Fragrant Approach to Robust Query Processing Anshuman Dutt Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore
3 Defending Against Network Attacks Using Packet Mark Sangita Roy Indian Institute of Technology, Patna
4 Colluding Browser Extensions "A Threat to Banking Domains" Anil Saini Malaviya National Institute of Technology, Jaipur
5 Investigating Privacy Preserving Approaches For Collaborative Association Rule Mining Nirali R. Nanavati Sardar Vallabhbhai National Institute of Technology, Surat
6 Enhancing Assessment Systems Using Ontology Based Methods Vinu E.V. Indian Institute of Technology, Madras
7 Effects of Dumb Nodes in Stationary Distributed Wireless Sensor Networks Pushpendu Kar Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
8 MDLFace: Memorability Augmented Deep Learning for Video Face Recognition Gaurav Goswami Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology, Delhi
9 Direct Processing of Document Images in Compressed Domain Mohammed Javed University of Mysore
10 Bias Field Correction in MR Images Using Rough Sets and Contraharmonic Mean Abhirup Banerjee Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata
11 Data Storage Security using Biometric Fingerprint without Enrollment Process Gaurang Panchal Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur

Awards and Evaluation

An eminent jury consisting of Prof. Debashis Saha, Indian Institute of Management, Calcutta; Prof. Shrisha Rao, International Institute of Information Technology, Bangalore, and Prof. Atul Negi, University of Hyderabad, evaluated the paper presentations on the parameters of Originality, Depth of Work (Modelling, Design, Experimentation, Results), Technical Content (Models, Optimization, Technologies, Analysis), Presentation (PPTs, Graphs, Explanations, Language, Clarity), Relevance (Applicability, Modernism) and Correctness of Work (Correct, Complete, Gaps).

The Winners

  • First Prize: Anshuman Dutt, Indian Institute of Science, Bangalore, for his contribution entitled A Fragrant Approach to Robust Query Processing.
  • Second Prize: Abhirup Banerjee, Indian Statistical Institute, Kolkata, for his contribution entitled Bias Field Correction in MR Images Using Rough Sets and Contraharmonic Mean.
  • Third Prize: Gaurav Goswami, Indraprastha Institute of Information Technology, Delhi, for his contribution entitled MDLFace: Memorability Augmented Deep Learning for Video Face Recognition.

The 1st prize consisted of INR 1 lakh and a citation. The 2nd prize consisted of INR 50,000/-, whereas the 3rd prize carried a reward of INR 35,000/- and a citation for each of the winners.