First IDRBT Doctoral Colloquium

With the objectives of initiating networking amidst technology researchers, sharing knowledge and learning from each other and exploring emerging areas of research in various areas of technology, the Institute organised the First IDRBT Doctoral Colloquium on September 22 & 23, 2011 at the Institute.

This colloquium provided an opportunity for researchers from reputed institutions such as IITs and NITs to present and discuss their research ideas. Twelve research scholars from various IITs NITs, an IIM and a Central University presented their research in the colloquium and the details are hereunder:

S. No. Topic Scholar Institution
1 A Framework For Effectively Managing the Impact of Enterprise Information Systems in Banks Roy D J Indian Institute of Management, Kozhikode
2 Finding Top K Solutions of Combinatorial Optimization Problems Satya Gautam Vadlamudi Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur
3 SMS Security Using NTRU Cryptosystem for M-Commerce Ashok Kumar Nanda National Institute of Technology, Hamirpur
4 A Wireless Ad hoc Network Architecture for Situation Management in Disaster Monitoring Niranjan Kumar Ray National Institute of Technology, Rourkela
5 Performance Optimization of Reinforcement Learning Based Routing Algorithm Applied to Ad Hoc Networks Shrirang Ambaji Kulkarni National Institute of Engineering, Mysore
6 Replay Attacks and its Cryptographic Solution Arun Kumar Singh Motilal Nehru National Institute of Technology, Allahabad
7 Infrastructure in Financial Precision : Theory & Simulation Abhilasha Aswal International Institute of Information Technology, Bangalore
8 Unconstrained Iris Recognition using F-SIFT Hunny Mehrotra National Institute of Technology, Rourkela
9 An Efficient Palmprint Based Recognition System using 1D- DCT Features Badrinath G S Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur
10 A Multi-Purpose Forecasting Model Based on Fuzzy Time Series Pritpal Singh Tezpur University
11 Qualitative Analysis of Dynamic Pattern Based Steganography Algorithm in Providing E-Banking Security Thiyagarajan Paramasivan Pondicherry University
12 Content Protection Through Reversible Watermarking Ruchira Naskar Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur

Awards and Evaluation

An eminent jury consisting of Dr. R. B. Barman, Member, IDRBT Governing Council and Chairman, IDRBT Research Advisory Committee; Prof. B. L. Deekshatulu and Prof. D. K. Subramanian, Distinguished Fellows, IDRBT, evaluated the proposals and presentations and the top three research scholars received prizes of Rs 50,000/-, Rs 30,000/- and Rs 25,000/- respectively in order of their standing.

The proposals were evaluated on the parameters of Originality, Depth of work (Modelling, Design, Experimentation, Results), Technical Content (Models, Optimization, Technologies, Analysis), Presentation (Graphs, Explanations, Language, Clarity), Relevance, Applicability, Modernism and Correctness of Work (Correct, Complete, Gaps).

The Winners

  • First Prize: Ruchira Naskar, Indian Institute of Technology, Kharagpur, for her contribution entitled Content Protection Through Reversible Watermarking.
  • Second Prize: Badrinath G S, Indian Institute of Technology, Kanpur, for his contribution entitled An Efficient Palmprint Based Recognition System using 1D- DCT Features.
  • Third Prize: Hunny Mehrotra, National Institute of Technology, Rourkela, for her contribution entitled Unconstrained Iris Recognition using F-SIFT.